Mom and son on a hike

26 01 2017

It’s one of my perpetual challenges to get my son out of the house and into the midst of nature. To make him spend and enjoy time away from all the gadgets. In the past, I’ve tried to motivate him and even tricked him into hiking a few times. I can’t say I had much success. He claims he’s not an “outdoorsy guy”. He is a little short of 10. Nevertheless, with all the enthusiasm that new year brings along, I cajoled him into doing a hike during the first long weekend of the year. Just the two of us. Yay!

I chose the Russian Ridge Open Space Preserve. I admit it’s not a random choice but inspiration from a meetup planned for a hike there that day to Borel Hill. That was about 6 miles of hiking, but I wanted something shorter. So, I picked one from bahiker.com, which is about 3.6 miles. All set.

 

I was totally surprised when my GPS led me onto the very narrow Old La Honda Rd in Woodside. It was super scary. Stupid GPS. I could have just taken 92W and Hwy35 instead.

We reached the preserve’s parking lot (on Alpine road) by around 10:30 am and started on the trail with gusto. We didn’t come across many hikers despite great weather, at least until noon. It was a beautiful sunny day.

img_8361

Mom and Son

I had wisely taken the pictures of the entire page on bahiker so that I can peruse it to stay on the suggested trail and not get lost. I’m not being dramatic here. I’ve had experiences before where we missed the trail and went dangerously off planned route even with good maps and non-novices. I must say I managed well sticking to the plan. I greatly appreciate bahiker for providing such a detailed and clear instruction that I, with barely any other preparation, could make my hike a success. We marched along happily discussing party plans for my son’s upcoming birthday.  We took the Ancient Oaks Trail at the first junction.

 

And then turned onto Charquin Trail.

img_8383

We had impressive views of the bay all along the way.

img_8400

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We also took a little detour along Ridge Trail for about 0.5 miles, climbing up the hill for better views, and there we spotted a couple of coyotes.

img_8402

Can you spot them?

This is my son exhausted before the last leg of the hike, a 1.2 mile trek back to the parking lot.

img_8419

The fact that it’s largely uphill, didn’t help him. On the contrary, he started regretting his decision to do the hike in the first place. Sigh! It’s just perseverance.  Sadly, there was no other way out than to continue walking. It was also very windy on the way up the Ridge Trail, making him even more miserable. The splendid views offered him only meager solace, if anything.

The last mile doesn’t seem to end. 🙂

But things got way better as we climbed down, past the  to the parking lot and he’s happy again, though a little tired. At last, the sight of the destination:

img_8440

On the way back to the car, I noticed that there’s a nature’s center on the other side of the road just 0.1 miles away. The fact that it displayed touchable wildlife skulls excited my son. Despite his fatigue. Off we went, only to find that it’s closed. Too bad my conscious mind didn’t register the open hours written across the board at the start of the trail. It clearly said, open only on Saturdays and Sundays. 🙂 But we got to see the beautiful Alpine Pond in all its glory. So, the short trip was still worth it.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In all, we did a little more than 4 miles. I couldn’t be more proud. This is definitely a good start for the year.

russian-ridge

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

