Good luck!

3 01 2017

First working day of the new year! It’s that time of the year when we, with utmost willpower, are eager to hit the gym, start working on the perpetually procrastinated pet project, spread the yoga mat, indulge in meditation, go on a run, read a book, start learning a new skill, start on a diet, call our moms often, or whatever new year resolutions we have taken for ourselves. I know that technically the new year started two days ago but I think we all can acknowledge that we could use some grace time before embarking on the journey of change. 😛

Well, how long do these best intentions and resolutions thrive? It depends on the person and also the magnitude and intensity of particular resolution. There is abundant self-help literature and other resources out there that give us lot of advice on how to go about it; how to persevere and how to change old habits and make new habits. We certainly need to exhibit much restraint, overcome the comfort of the existing habits, and basically need to undergo unpleasantness and occasionally be ready for frustration and discomfort. Of course, there is also the guilt and disappointment when we fall short. The bottom line is that it’s not easy.

Here are a few things I’ve tried that worked for me. First of all, I cheated. Not in the sense of claiming (to myself and others) that I achieved something when I didn’t, but rather in the way that I chose only those resolutions that I knew I would most definitely and without much difficulty accomplish. I know, this is lame and practically useless. But it actually helped me to restore confidence in myself. I’m sure at least some of you will resonate with the feeling of satisfaction and achievement that comes with striking off a goal from the list. 😉  After many years of going through the cycle of disappointment, this was a desperate measure I had taken. With renewed confidence and energy that comes from success, or rather a sense of success, I was then ready for greater challenges. However, I follow some rules in making and acting upon my resolutions:

  1. Break down big resolutions into manageable smaller chunks. Take it slow. Be easy on yourself.
  2. Translate resolutions into SMART goals
  3. Anticipate lapses. Accept them and be self-compassionate. But remember to persevere. Don’t stop trying.

I believe that more often than not it’s the journey that’s more valuable than the destination. It’s the journey that teaches you more things and shapes you.

Enjoy your journey. Good luck!

339912423_4416699c99_z

Actions

Information

4 responses

3 01 2017
Sree

A happy new year to you too

3 01 2017
itplays

Smart Post!!

5 01 2017
Sashank Bhogu

The man who moves a mountain begins by carrying away small stones. – Confucius

Its useful to keep short achievable targets – to restore confidence as rightly mentioned by you. I have to say – it is a nice Hack. Happy new year.

7 01 2017
sireeshaavvari

Always for hacks 😜

Leave a Reply

