Connecting the dots

29 10 2016

When I first observed a series of seemingly random incidents/occurrences, which happened over a period of time, converging on common threads/trains of thought, I found the phenomenon profound and mildly exciting not unlike childlike wonder. At first glance, those independent events appear very insignificant and totally unrelated to anything else.  But when you are able to connect the dots and derive meaning or make a story out of it, it’s fascinating and open the doors for new trains of thought and/or perspectives.

A few examples:

I’ve been thinking about “judging” a lot for a long time, especially in the context of parenting and how the current societal norms for parenting are so exacting. Recently, I came across a podcast on “Growing up”, which among other things, talked about anxiety of modern parenting.  I find this topic so intriguing and worth of further study much beyond the blog post I produced a couple of months ago.

Years ago I read a random story  about a working couple, who decide not to have children owing to their demanding careers. It was truly shocking for me at that time. Sometime later I had an acquaintance revealing her intention not to ever have kids in her life. Quite recently, I chanced upon a book titled “Selfish, Shallow, and Self-absorbed” book, which is a collection of essays by 16 writers who chose not to have kids. I haven’t really influenced any of these occurrences, but over time they all stitch together to provide me with a whole new perspective.

A colleague casually remarked on  a podcast about personal love stories. With that memory nowhere in my conscious mind, I impulsively pick up an audio book of Story Corps from the local library. A little while later, through a totally unrelated talk on “Art of listening”, came to know about how David Isay’s Story Corps (listening to others’ stories) is a revolutionary idea that’s impacting people’s lives and that this ongoing oral history project has bagged the one million dollar TED prize for the year. These connected dots quite opened up for me a totally new way of thinking about power of stories.According to David Isay, the most powerful words that one can speak to another:

  • Thank you
  • I’m sorry
  • Forgive me
  • I forgive you

Truly powerful. Simple. Aren’t they?

Of course, if we try to rationalize this phenomenon of seemingly “strange coincidences”, I’m sure we can find one or more perfectly reasonable and logical explanations. I don’t want to go into what they might be now. But there is one thing I can definitely say about them: they wouldn’t be as awe-inspiring. 😉

Actions

Information

One response

4 11 2016
Minimalism | Peek Inside My Mind

[…] could well be another case for “connecting the dots“. Truth be told, almost anything could be interpreted as […]

Leave a Reply

