Flowers, gardens, and colors

20 09 2015

I have an inexplicable fondness towards gardens – botanical gardens, Japanese gardens, Chinese gardens, arboretums. I think I find solace not only in the greenery but also in the way they are well-groomed and maintained. And I love the flowers. I first mentioned about this special liking and the almost enchanting effect of them on me more than 5 years ago here. As I revisited that blogpost, I was bemused by how alike the beginnings of the both – the old post and the current post – are.ย  ๐Ÿ˜› Since then, I’ve visited several more gardens and fell in love with each one of them.

While I was strolling in Morton Arboretum with my high-school friend last month and marveling at the beauty of it at each and every turn, she wondered how and when did I acquire this taste. Of course it is neither unnatural nor particularly effortful for anyone to have an appreciation for nature. Her question actually caught me off my guard. However, it struck me that her curiosity is justified given that I’m not exactly known for my perceptiveness or sensibility :P, and that our cultural and family backgrounds never afforded or allowed the luxury of having a penchant for superficial aka non-survival-basedย  things like art or nature.ย  Well, I never realized myself when or how it happened to me.ย  Most probably when I visited Ooty in 2002 and Bloedel Reserve in 2008. But I’m glad it did.

Recently, I had been to Mendocino Botanical Gardens and was mesmerized by the colorful flowers, winding paths, and above all the peace and tranquility the place offered. I know I’m repeating myself and pityingly falling short of describing either the place or my experience in more than a handful of adjectives. The problem is obviously my limited vocabulary and expression abilities, and I believe that only great poets like Wordsworth can do proper justice. ๐Ÿ˜‰ The Dahlia garden was an absolute visual treat.

Here is a collection of photographs from the visit:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thereafter, I had been to the Glass Beach. Despite knowing that it’s the dump/trash that’s basically washed out by the sea in the form of colorful glass stones/pebbles, the prospect of looking at the shiny, reflecting, vivid, vibrant beach still lured me.

I was expecting this; (Image source: Google Images)

Glass beach

And I found this:

IMG_3690

Close enough?? ๐Ÿ˜› ย I felt duped and disappointed. ๐Ÿ˜› Looks like the glass has been diminishing over the years both due to heavy tourism (people collecting glass) and natural causes (waves grinding down the glass). ๐Ÿ˜

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

