No Country For Old Men

4 06 2015

ahf9-square-175I have read this classic novel of Cormac McCarthy years ago and marked it for re-read. Because I was painfully aware that I was not able to appreciate its greatness at that time. Actually, if I remember correctly, I didn’t even understand the plot completely. 😛 Guess, I wasn’t paying it the attention it deserved.

I just finished listening to this book, and this time I can say that I’m duly rewarded by my efforts. 🙂 It’s just brilliant.  I know that by no means I’m the first one to say it. Nonetheless, it feels good to say it aloud. The dialogues and narration are simply matchless. They made even ordinary characters extraordinary. I felt that Sheriff’ Bell’s reflections were particularly impressive. As also Moss’ dialogue with the hitchhiking girl. I also found the conversation between Chigurah and Carla Jean, right before he shot her dead, striking. ( A gem from that conversation – “Do you understand? When I came into your life your life was over. It had a beginning, a middle, and an end. This is the end.” What can one say to that? What can one say to anyone with a gun pointed at one’s head? )In fact, each and everything in this book this is just remarkable.

The narrator Tom Stechschulte did a great job and I guess I owe him for my better comprehension this time around. 🙂

I don’t claim to have gotten everything right in this encounter with the masterpiece though 😛 and look forward to reading it again sometime in future for better enlightenment. 😉

I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this book. It had been an immense pleasure.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

