Gifting

5 05 2015

Gifting is a rewarding experience. To pick and choose the best gifts for near and dear has always been my favorite activity. But over the years, I must admit that the frequency of gifting has dwindled unbeknownst to me . Of course there is some gifting done occasionally in a perfunctory way, devoid of any surprise element whatsoever. And of course there are some moments when I’m inspired to make a gesture. Even as I agree that the act of gifting is as much gratifying to me as I do hope to the receivers, I usually don’t pat my shoulder for the deed. I just feel glad for the opportunity to spread smiles and wonder why I don’t do this more often and to more people. But the magic is lost quickly and routine life takes over. Sigh!

Recently, I became part of this ‘Pay it Forward’ chain on Facebook, which basically needs you to surprise 5 of your friends with deeds of kindness aka gifts. Thus I got myself into this amazing opportunity for thinking noble thoughts. πŸ˜›

One thing that struck me in this whole experience is how difficult it is to pick the right gift. Especially if you want it to be something the receiver can cherish or at least bring a warm lingering smile on his/her face. Sometimes it’s mildly frustrating too as I endlessly scour ideas and websites for something that feels just right. πŸ˜‰ But in the end, it’s all worth it.

Happiness and smiles everywhere. Bliss! πŸ™‚

Actions

Information

One response

5 05 2015
Mae-Ann

I loved the gift you gave me. It was so unexpected, and yet I can tell you put some thought into it.

Leave a Reply

