The Fault In Our Stars

11 01 2015

Fault

Though not my usual choice of reading, I picked it up from a friend’s list. She utterly enjoyed the book and her enthusiasm was just contagious. I couldn’t wait long to start it off myself and share her experience. I wanted to read this book for her.

I’m glad I did. I like it. Its crisp and unpretentious narration is refreshing. It’s touching and sad. Though I can’t relate too much with the teenage protagonists (my adolescence and it’s magic seems so far into the past and I feel ancient 😛 ), I fully appreciate the characters and the masterful way John Green has weaved the plot. I found the way the protagonists address each other by full names as cute.

There are several quotes I loved from the book and I would like to present a few here (just for the record. 😛 ) :

“The existence of broccoli does not in any way affect the taste of chocolate.”

“I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly and then all at once.”

“The world is not a wish-granting factory.”

“I don’t ever want to do that to you.”, I told him. “Oh, I wouldn’t mind Hazel Grace. It would be a privilege to have my heart broken by you.”

“Some infinities are bigger than other infinities.”

“The sun risen is too bright in your losing eyes.”

“You say you’re not special because the world doesn’t know about you, but that’s an insult to me. I know about you.”

“The only person I really wanted to talk to about Augustus waters’ death was Augustus Waters.”

“You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world, but you do have some say in who hurts you.”

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 01 2015
lovebooksandblush

i really loved this book as well. Great quote choices! My favorite is: “I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly and then all at once.” Good post!

22 01 2015
N

Great post! I liked that you listed a few quotes from the book here. I watched the movie first and liked the dialogues a lot which made we want to read the book. I think it had some great, deep, though-provoking quotes.

6 04 2015
Sashank Bhogu

Thanks for Summarizing and sharing the quotes…

Leave a Reply

