2013 and Reading

4 02 2014

I’m not a compulsive writer. Writing doesn’t come naturally or easily to me. (Can ‘blogging’ be considered as ‘writing’ in the first place?)  When life’s other (read – relatively more important) things take a toll on me, blogging conveniently takes a back seat. Though I hate the long gaps, I do what I can, given my limited resources. 🙂

Often, when I blog, I wonder why am I writing such mundane stuff and why would anyone take the trouble and bother much about what goes on in my mind! Lol! I don’t write for readership.  But I do appreciate the visitors and faithful followers. Sometimes I wonder isn’t this an audacious act on my part – the implicit assumption/expectation that someone out there will read it.  Or is it simply being narcissistic? I came across something recently about blogging being like meditating: “It helps you look within and learn who you are.”, says the Zen philosophy.  Doesn’t this sound really great? I’ll stick to this explanation for now. 😛

2013 had been a hectic but largely a fulfilling ride. Interestingly, it started off pretty badly, with me losing my valuables. Credit goes to my notorious “absentmindedness”.  🙂  2013 had been highly eventful, though my research took a heavy blow. Not much progress there to speak of. That’s my greatest regret. 2013 helped me grow as a person. I explored and discovered a few things about myself. I’m grateful for the opportunity. Life seems almost content. (But the journey has  only just begun.) Not that there weren’t any challenges. Things were tough for me but I faced them and emerged out victorious, or so I assumed. 😛

My reading suffered in the midst of all the hustle and bustle. The count is only 34, the lowest since 2006. How I wish I could steal time and escape to a lonely island to read to my heart’s content! I can see that hammock waiting for me invitingly. 😛

2013-6

2013-3I have just observed that I read more than my usual share of Mystery/Thrillers in 2013.

  1. Anita Nair’s “Cut-Like Wound”
  2. Vinod Joseph’s “When the snow Melts”
  3. Piyush Jha’s Mumbaistan
  4. Keigo Higashino’s Devotion of Suspect X
  5. Dan Brown’s Inferno
  6. Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl
  7. Robert Galbraith (J K Rowling)’s The Cuckoo’s Calling

2013-1All of them proved to be engaging reads except “Mumbaistan”, which is a disaster. “When the Snow Melts “is a decent spy thriller. It reminded me of “Viswaroopam” movie. Though the storylines are different, the backdrops are kind of similar. I absolutely loved the subject of Inferno, kind of agreed with the solution too. 😛 Gone Girl is refreshing with a complex psychological protagonist. “Cut Like Wound” too is a psychological thriller. I was really impressed.

I am guilty of reading a couple of cheesy chick-lits last year. :p The Secret Wishlist (cheesier) by Preethi Shenoy and Sophie Says by Judy Balan (far better). I’m glad I could manage to read a couple of classics – Anna Karenina and Pride & Prejudice. The former was too long for my liking though!

This year I got introduced to Dr. Kesava Reddy’s work. Both “Munemma” and “Athadu Adavini Jayinchaadu” are brilliant, the later is especially outstanding.

2013-5

No. of books by the rating I’ve given.

2013-4I had participated in a reading challenge wherein I had to read 8 books written by South Asian Women Authors and review them on my blog. I read the books but failed to review, thus defeating the whole purpose of the challenge.  😦 Following is the list of the books I read as part of that challenge:

  1. Cut Like Wound – Anita Nair
  2. Manasuko Daaham – Kuppili Padma
  3. Nijaniki Feminijaniki Madhya – Nidadhavolu Malathi
  4. Mistress of Spices – Chitra Divakaruni Banerjee
  5. A Village by the Sea – Anita Desai
  6. Jasmine – Bharathi Mukherjee
  7. Bride – Bapsi Sidhwa
  8. Bonsai Kitten – Lakshmi Narayan

So, here are 2013’s best picks:

  • Best Fiction (English): Bride by Bapsi Sidhwa
  • Best Non-Fiction (English): God Loves Fun by Sri Sri Ravi Shankar
  • Best Short Stories (English): Walls of Delhi by Uday Prakash (Original in Hindi, Translated by Jason Grunebaum)
  • Best Fiction (Telugu): Athadu Adavini Jayinchaadu by Dr.Kesava Reddy
  • Best Non-Fiction (Telugu): Seethavela Raaneeyaku by Kuppili Padma
  • Best Short Stories (Telugu): Amaravathi Kathalu by Sankaramanchi Satyam
2013-22

Geographical coverage – I’ve read books from these countries. Darker the color, more the number of books.

Oh, something unusual happened this year. I had been to the annual books exhibition and not bought even a single book for myself. 😛

2013-2

Another visual of Books<–>Countries

Note: All the visuals in this blogpost pertain to the statistics of my reading in 2013

Actions

Information

One response

16 04 2014
Deepu

You rock anthe!
Never mind the review darling, you’re a clear winner of the contest 🙂

Leave a Reply

