2012 reading

6 01 2013

I’ve read a meager 53 books in 2012, owing to several academic and personal commitments. I’m not very happy about the overall reading (not just the quantity but the quality and variety) of this year but I’m glad that I utilized the services of my university’s library to read some good literature, especially Telugu. Find below some of the statistics drawn from my personal database:

Category_2012 Mode-2012

It can be observed that only 5 of the 53 are non-fiction. I wish I read more of them. I read a greater proportion of Telugu books (21 out of 53 i.e. 40%)compared to previous years.  Also, majority of works are from India, just like last year. I have to make a conscious effort to read stuff from different nations, at least in 2013. I haven’t read any translation works this year, with the exception of two; Short stories by Premchand and a novel – South of the border, West of the sun by Haruki Murakami.


CountryOfOrigin_2012
Rating_2012

Status2012

Here are the bests of 2012:

  • Best Novel (English): Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenedis and Mistress by Anita Nair
  • Best Short Stories (English): The Red Carpet by Lavanya Sankaran and Release and Other Stories by Rakshanda Jalil
  • Best Novel (Telugu): Maidanam by Chalam and Changiz Khan by Tenneti Suri
  • Best Short Stories (Telugu): Saalabhanjika by KuppilinPadma
  • Best Non-Fiction: Indians by Sudhir Kakar

Type_2012

I wrote elaborate posts for Middlesex and Mistress after I read them. So I don’t feel the need to say anything about them now. The Red Carpet is a collection of stories based in Bangalore. Her in-depth style is a pleasure to read. The collection is very fulfilling. Release and Other Stories has a  lighter style in comparison but nevertheless deal with interesting and subtle subjects.

Maidanam by Chalam: It’s mind blowing. It would completely shake you. It’s deeply affecting too. I can say one is never the same after reading it. I can understand why it is so notorious. Words fail to express my reaction to it. I’ll leave it to the imagination of the readers. Those who have read the novel would understand I guess.

Changiz Khan is historical fiction, mostly likely to be the true depiction of the life of the great Mongolian leader. It’s a very new experience to read through the conditions and customs of those times, where physical power alone wins and war is a part of life. Thank god, we have come a far way since then. :-). Chengiz Khan was an enthralling read.

Saalabhanjika’s review is here.

One other deeply affecting book I read this year is Indians by Sudhir Kakar. He is an eminent psychoanalyst and writer. He has written several books dealing with culture and religion. I got some valuable insights from this particular book of his, which have put some doubts of mine to rest. Understanding the psychology of Indians as a whole helped me to accept and to have more clarity about certain things. I intend to read more and more of him in future.

In 2012, I got introduced to “Ampasayya” Naveen. I read several of his works during the past year starting from his famous Ampasayya to his Sahitya Academy Award winner Kaalarekhalu. Needless to say, I liked his style very much and look forward to read more of him in future.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 01 2013
shekhar

congratulations Sireesha

9 01 2013
sireeshaavvari

😀

Leave a Reply

