Gone With the Wind

19 08 2011

Totally loved reading this classic by Margaret Mitchell, set in 19th century  Georgia of USA.  It’s a whopping 900 pages and it’s as good a page turner as any thriller. I enjoyed the whole experience a lot and I believe this book remains one of my favorites, its powerful characters etched forever in my memory.

I have a kind of phobia for huge books and it was with great reluctance that I first embarked on this novel. Also, it being a classic, I had doubts as to the pace of the story and I must say that I had been pleasantly surprised to encounter its fast tempo.

When one reads a book this size and a story of this breadth, it is inevitable that the characters cast a deep impression on one’s mind. One gets to feel a certain kind of kinship with them which is not dissimilar to that invoked by daily soaps, I guess 😉 .

During the 3 weeks it took me to finish this book, I found myself several times contemplating the southern life as depicted in it – Tara and its beauty, tempers and mannerisms of the Old Guard, Atlanta and its buzz, the war and more. It had been impossible to detach myself from these enigmatic characters and events even when I was not reading and I recollect many a night when I ruminated about them before going to sleep.

Scarlett, with her high spirit – selfish and insensitive though she was, won my heart for her courage and determination. Rhett, the hero of the novel was always a gentleman at heart but was irrevocably the most notorious character in and around Atlanta. He did move me to tears when he bared his heart to Scarlett towards the end, in such an impassioned  and broken-hearted way. It’s true that however much he loved her, he couldn’t have expressed it explicitly, for Scarlett would then have scorned him. What a pity she didn’t realize it earlier and it was too late when she at last did. But of course one can’t expect anything else from her, knowing her.

I often wondered about Scarlett’s feelings for Ashley and vice-versa. I was struck by her blind faith and loyalty to him – or rather to her image of him. Ashley always seemed hazy and swept off by Scarlett’s charms and little else. He didn’t come out as a strong character. I felt that the way the author made it all cleared up in the end is laudable. And how can I forget Melly, the ideal woman of the novel – soft spoken, kind, gentle and at the same time courageous in her own way who had been the inconspicuous source of strength for both Ashley and Scarlett.

Margaret crafted the characters so well that they stuck to their dispositions all through and were so meaningful as to deliver a rich experience for one who is interested in studying personalities.

Gone With the Wind is a stirring saga that just swept me off the ground. This is something too good to miss.

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 08 2011
Haritha

Will definitely read it, one day.

10 02 2012
2011 Reading « Peek Inside My Mind

[…] Novel – English: Gone With the Wind by Margeret […]

15 02 2012
Dreams of Joy « Peek Inside My Mind

[…] thoughts even while reading about Scarlet’s blind love for and fierce devotion to Ashley in Gone With the Wind. What did it all fetch her in the end? It ruined her life. In a way, it was so upsetting to read […]

Leave a Reply

