Interlude?

19 07 2011

I’ve been reading books steadily and voraciously for about 5 years now and there were a lot of moments during this period when I wondered when my interest in reading fades out. Not that I wanted to. On the contrary, I love reading like anything and often see myself devouring more and more books. My favorite dream of my future is me relaxing in a small house in a scenic place with endless time for me to enjoy my books.

Well, why then I sometimes feel that there is an end for my cherishment just around the corner? I’ve had several hobbies and interests since my childhood and almost all of them abated gradually and finally died out. So, all through these years I’ve had the subconscious thought that the same would happen sometime to my reading too. I’m putting too much time and energy into this activity that by logic the tide should recede. But the only problem with this kind of reasoning is that I can’t imagine myself without books and have no clue what takes their place thereafter.

The reason for this sudden contemplation is that my reading right now has hit the lowest point of all these five years. I’ve been pursuing the same book for the past 3 weeks or so, reading hardly a page or two per day. It’s not that the book is boring. I feel lethargic to settle down to read and these days am not very keen to snatch away snippets of time here and there to indulge in my current read. No interest to pick up another book or even buy a new flick. (Aravind Adiga’s Last Man in Tower poses a slight temptation but even as I dwell on the idea I realize that I’m in no hurry to read any stuff.) The insatiable hunger for books doesn’t exist now and I feel passionless, preferring to spend my idle time watching the idiot box or doing some mundane things. While I stare blankly at my shelf of unread books, I puzzle over my current predicament.

I truly hope this is just a brief interlude meant to only recoup my energies. While on one side I’m impassive to reading now, on the other side I’m kind of missing it too.

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 07 2011
sree

Trust me it is just a phase, I have been there…

20 07 2011
sireeshaavvari

Oh is it? I already feel better! πŸ™‚

20 07 2011
Haritha

Hi. I think you mind is full of knowledge you aquired from past few years and is refusing to take in more knowledge. That could be the reason to your “Interlude”. Thanks to you, I learnt a new word: INTERLUDE. πŸ™‚

20 07 2011
sireeshaavvari

Too much knowledge? Lol! I’m flattered. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

