Blatant lie

22 02 2011

It’s a known fact that people often lie about their age. More so, women. I believe that in many cases one could get away by it if one lies judiciously. If you are fit and look the age you want to be, I guess there isn’t any danger of exposure whatsoever.

But I’ve noticed lately that people lie about their height too. The idea has been unfamiliar to me because it’s hard for me to comprehend how one can lie about such an obvious thing. If it’s just a matter of an inch, then I think it’s manageable. But even in such a case, if the listener sees through the lie and jeers, won’t it be embarrassing and project one’s inferiority complex, which is worse than being shorter?

Just yesterday I came across a girl at a tailor’s shop, who claimed that she is 5’3″. I was dumbfounded because I’m 5’3″ and she is a good 2-3 inches shorter than me.  The tailor authoritatively dismissed her claim saying that she is just 5′. The girl was clearly embarrassed  and murmured something like.. Yeah.. 5’3″ or 5′. As if both are same. I felt pity for the girl. Why should she tell such a blatant lie? It was so pathetic.

I had a similar experience before where the person adamantly insisted that she is of the height which she claims to be even though she clearly is not.

I didn’t realize until then that being a few inches shorter than what you want to be is such a shameful thing that one is prepared to blatantly lie about it and risk embarrassment.

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 02 2011
sireesha

hey munni,

there are many people in the world who lie about everything . In each and every potluck i see people just lie for no reason. If i raise that topic and keep on discussing about that then just want to disappear fromt he place. That means they know that they lied. Konni Jeevithalu ala vadileyali anthe.

9 04 2011
sireeshaavvari

It’s both irritating and funny at the same time. Isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

