A book and its cover

30 03 2010

I never really judge a book by it’s cover. And I usually do not spend any time reflecting on it. But the one of my recent read got me wondering about it, but ala, not in a positive way. I picked up Buyology by Martin Lindstrom on my colleague’s recommendation. No regrets about that – none whatsoever. The book is  actually cool, if not awesome.

As the title suggests, it’s all about branding and advertising. It is supposed to help us -the consumers – recognize the various tricks that the companies play to woo us into spending more and favoring their brand/product. I especially liked the chapters on rituals and sensory branding. The former talks about how significant a role rituals play in our life and how some brands /products introduce new rituals and thereby connect to us more. The latter topic really amazed me by  revealing that for us, vision is perhaps the weakest sense and smell is the most powerful. It is the combination of smell, sound and vision that makes a brand/advertising more successful.

But as I mentioned earlier, I felt that it’s cover is lame. In fact these were some of my thoughts about it:

  • How can anyone think that a cover like this would be appealing?
  • It looks like a textbook
  • Gosh, someone might be in a rush
  • This book could definitely use a better cover
Actions

Information

2 responses

23 04 2010
Deepu

LOL! That was really hilarious – your thoughts about the book :))
good one.

24 04 2010
sireeshaavvari

🙂

Leave a Reply

