To buy or to not?

26 03 2010

Ever since I first heard about the Global version of Amazon Kindle, I’ve been toying the idea of buying one. The ability to carry your library in your handbag appealed to me very much. But I do have certain misgivings. To be frank, I prefer print books to electronic books. Print books give me a sense of ownership and feel good in my hands and also to my eyes. So, I guess this urge to get myself a Kindle is just my curiosity getting the better of me.

Whenever I seriously think about how much I can really use a eReader, I feel short of convincing reasons to go for it. For example, I’m pretty sure that I won’t be buying stuff through it much. I’ll use it more to read the freebie stuff out there and other personal documents with only a occassional purchase. As long as I can get a print book with much lower price at a local store(especially in India), I don’t think I would bother buying the electronic version from Amazon.

So, my dilemma now is – if this is all I would use kindle for, is it worth spending $300 for it? The rational person in me obviously says “no”. However, I just can’t seem to be able to ignore this craving to own one, just for the heck of it. To try it and savor the feeling of belonging to the cult of Kindle owners. Should I go with my craving or let my rational side take the lead and refrain from buying it?

The bottom line is that I’m just looking for stronger and more compelling reasons to take out my wallet and charge my Visa. Can you offer me one?

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 03 2010
Sunita

I was in the same dilemma for a while but since I drive to work and I like holding my books when I read them, I didn’t buy it.. And Yes, I was pretty sure as well that I would not be buying any e-books from amazon. I was thinking on investing in audio books instead!

29 03 2010
sireeshaavvari

Hmm.. Audio books! I’m very skeptical about them. Do you find them comfortable and easy to follow? I usually re-read some passages and I guess it would be a pain to rewind the tape or CD to do that. And I personally feel like I have to concentrate more when I have to listen to books. I’m keen to hear the pros of audio books from you..!

Well, as for the Kindle, looks like it’s really hard to come up with an elevator pitch.

Leave a Reply

