Bye bye 2009

31 12 2009

It’s time to say goodbye to 2009. It’s also time to reflect & introspect as old year passes by and to plan ahead as new year welcomes us.

All in all, 2009 had been a good year to me. While it had its own share of disappointments and troubles, I think I made most out of it. I feel that the significance and effect of any particular incident that happens to you depends on the way you feel and react to it. The general attitude and state of mind are what I perceive as the indicators of how good or bad time is. In that sense, I can say I’ve been good to whatever 2009 brought me.

I have been able to realize only two of all the resolutions I made in the beginning of this year. L I think I wasn’t determined and/or motivated enough. Some things like “work out” or “weight control” keep coming up as resolutions at the start of every year with little attention given to them the rest of the year. I think a simple solution can be to include only easy resolutions which don’t demand much change in our lifestyle 😀 . There were other critical goals too – may be I just have to preserve and strive to achieve in the coming year. This reminds me that it’s time to come up with yet another resolution list for yet another year. Well, I have to think hard this time. 🙂

As you might have figured out by now, I’m a kind of person who regularly maintains a to-do list, plan things, and generally like to be organized. But I’m by no means a perfectionist. The brief description about me projects me as someone who likes to act on a whim. And that’s true too. First, I enjoy making plans and then take secret pleasure in deviating from them; slight disorderliness in the context of orderliness. I have another reason to take pleasure in making resolution or goal lists: the sense of independence and power. It might seem silly but I’ll explain. Until recently, all the major decisions concerning my life were taken by someone else – be it the degree I earn or the college I go to or the person I marry or the place I live in. These days, I feel like I can make my own decisions and shape my life as I wish. This feeling of being in control (albeit of one’s own life) is intoxicating. Thanks to my wonderful husband, I can now pursue my interests and dreams. In fact, I realized only recently that never before had I thought seriously about what I wanted to do, never let my imagination soar. I was just busy trying to meet others’ expectations. It seems tragic to think about it all in this way, but I presume it’s usually the case for most. Presently, I feel so liberated. Now, my lists take on more significance than before. 🙂

As you might have learned from my previous post, I had been on a reading spree this year. I’m glad I could read so many books of varied genres. I’m not so sure I would be able to repeat this feat in future though. I just love reading and my passion seems to grow with each book I read.

Career was satisfactory. I count myself lucky to have gotten timely opportunities in this hard economic time. And I’m happy about my academic pursuits. I’m learning a lot and the fact that I’m enjoying it very much makes me feel happier about my efforts.

I’ve been to some wonderful places this summer, all except one within the State. Washington never ceases to enthrall me with its amazing landscape. Some of the scenic places we have been to this year are:

  • Deception Pass
  • Deception Falls
  • Alpine Falls
  • Scenic Falls
  • Mount Baker- Snoqualmie National Forest
  • Hurricane Ridge
  • Chinook Pass
  • Tipsoo Lake
  • Whidbey Island
  • Franklin Falls


The one out-of-State place we have been to is Yellow Stone National Park, whose beauty is mesmerizing. It has everything in it – rivers, waterfalls, valleys, mountains, snow, geysers, hot springs, wildlife, lakes. It was beautiful beyond words.

Last but not least, this blog was born this year giving me a canvas to paint my thoughts. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my blogging experience so far and I hope to be better in future.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

