2 States

12 12 2009

I finished reading 2 States: The Story of My Marriage (by Chetan Bhagat) a couple of days ago. Hmm.. the standard is pretty much the same but I have to admit that this one is more entertaining than the others. In my opinion, 2 States comes closer to Chetan’s dubut hit Five point Someone in mood and quality. The fact that they both are semi-autobiographical doesn’t seem to be a coincidence to me. (The other two books in between have been a kind of let downs – basically seemed inferior.)

The concept of boy and girl going to the would-be in-laws to impress them reminded me of a Tamil movie Jodi.

2 States is funny, romantic, silly and filmy all the same time. I really wonder how close the novel characters resemble the real people concerned, because at times it seemed to me that he stretched their idiosyncracies a bit too much. Ananya being so hi-fi from the beginning, poking fun at things and booing, giving the impression of being extra extra cool actually didn’t impress me much. I don’t mean to say that there is anything wrong about it but I felt it made her very unreal. I wonder whether Chetan’s wife Anusha is really like that. I googled for her picture, and here‘s one of the couple:

She sure is beautiful and they both make a wonderful couple to look at. I’m also a bit curious about the truth about his father and wonder about their romance part. All in all, I felt that this book is a bold move on his part. Just can’t guess how much of it is fiction and how much is fact.

There are a very few morsels of thought in this novel, one of which I really liked is Krish’s explanation as to why he has found Guruji’s advice enlightening and why he has felt better. Here’s what he says to Ananya about it:

“Sometimes in your life you just meet someone or hear something that nudges you on the right path. And that becomes the best advice. It could just be a bit of common sense said in a way that resonates with something in you. It’s nothing new, but because it connects with you it holds meaning for you.”

Actions

Information

10 responses

19 02 2010
I am me

Yeah…. I wonder whether they really had sex in IIM-A dorms. 😮

3 01 2011
2010 in review « Peek Inside My Mind

[…] The busiest day of the year was January 4th with 139 views. The most popular post that day was 2 States. […]

5 03 2012
shahbaz

2 states has been written very beautifully. I finished readind ths novel within 10hrs at a streach. Being frank i fell in love with ananya while reading it bcoz it a masterpiece. I dnt wanna wrt anythng further bcoz chetan u my take it otherwise.it was bold step frm u to write abt all those romantic episode. At last ,there has been ananya all way among the circle of our frnds.i looked for anusha snaps on web & let me confess tht u r beautiful ,no doubt in that. Now i have developed liking for south indians .bye

8 05 2012
itz me

‘2 states’ is similar to my love story. I am from kerala and my lover is a telugu boy… God knows what is going to be..

14 08 2012
Mayur

really beautiful
but was his father like that?

7 10 2012
deepak mahto

2 states is very beautifully written.
like a curious guy i also searched ananya in google and at last i got anusha.yeah she looks beautiful.
this is a very romantic as well social reforming novel.enjoyed reading every sentence.

29 04 2014
ANISH

I READ REVOLUTION 2020 2 STATES AND CURRENTLY READING 3 MISTAKES OF MY LIFE .I LIKE 2 STATES MUCH .AFTER READING UR NOVEL I THINK I LEARN 3 THINGS 1>NEVER BE A CLOSE FRND OF A GIRL 2> HAVE A PERSONALTY LIKE ISHAANT 3>BE CARING TO FRIENDS

1 05 2014
aishvarma

the questions that you had are quite similar to mine . but if you do think about Krish’s past , he had a dominating father.Since a teenager girl myself i have noticed in my college such boys are attracted to dominating girls . its confusing but true according to me

1 08 2015
madan

Anusha is beautiful.. But not upto to the hype given in 2 states..Maybe thats her impact in Chetan’s mind..

28 08 2015
sireeshaavvari

Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. I always think that portrayal of beauty in words is usually exaggeration. In fact it could just be author’s attempt to express his perspective rather than depict the beauty objectively.

Leave a Reply

