Love stories

29 11 2009

In my opinion, love stories appeal to everyone, more so the good ones. Among the many books I’ve read, the following love stories are my favorite:

The Bridges of Madison County by Robert James Waller

Bridges of Madison CountyI seldom cry on a book and I surprised myself by shedding tears caught up by the passion of Mary and Noah. It’s the most beautiful love story I’ve ever read and which touched me the most. I feel that the way it is narrated by the author, allows you to peep inside their hearts and experience their love for each other. It’s a bit unconventional , being about  a happily married woman in her 40s who finds herself deeply in love with a stranger.

Love Story by Erich Segal

Love means never having to say sorry

Love StoryThis eternal novel needs no introduction.  This is perhaps the first love story that touched my heart.  An unforgettable tale of love, though tragic in the end, Love Story is sure to increase one’s belief in love. Oliver and Jenny’s love is so beautiful that it lingers in one’s heart forever.

The Great Gatsby by Scott. Fitzgerald

The Great GatsbyIt’s beautiful, not so because of the story itself but by the author’s prowess in bringing out the characters and their emotions to life. I greatly admired Gatsby and was awed by the intensity of his love for Daisy. I found it extremely touching that he continued to love her until his untimely death.

I wonder whether it’s a coincidence or not that all my favorites are tragic (at least to some extent).   🙂 Well, I can only say that wherever there is love, there is pain too.

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 12 2009
Sunita

You are right about love n pain.. I love all the 3 books too 🙂

9 12 2009
sireeshaavvari

Oh cool!

Leave a Reply

