Done with The Lost Symbol

12 10 2009
Here are my thoughts about the book while I was still reading it – The Lost Symbol.
I’m done with The Lost Symbol at last. It took me 8 days to read it. It’s a bit long for a thriller, but I was not able to spend much time on it on any day. Finally, I had to spend a better part of my Sunday in order to wind it up.
I found the theme of this book even better than those of Dan Brown’s previous works. The fact that the subject isn’t as far fetched as the Jesus’ lost lineage or mysterious meteorite, has made all the difference to me. Even though, this includes all the usual symbols, mysteries, secrets and codes, the ultimate truth is the simplest one and yet very powerful. I could relate to it and was astonished by the revelation.
I hated Sato very much in the beginning for intimidating Robert. I made a little note too at that point – “I hate Sato.  Whatever her motives are, at the moment she is just a malicious, inconsiderate, selfish brute.”
I had a strong feeling even then that she has her own reasons for behaving so and she intentioned well. But all the same, my feelings for her didn’t improve much. Despite her efficiency, I couldn’t appreciate her ruthlessness. She is one of the coldest characters I’ve ever came across.
And I was awed by the sensory- deprivation tanks and breathable liquid mentioned in the novel. Never heard of them before. I was curious before I came to that part as to how the author would explain the escape of an important person from death by apparent drowning.

Here are my thoughts about the book while I was still reading it – The Lost Symbol.

I’m done with The Lost Symbol at last. It took me 8 days to read it. It’s a bit long for a thriller, but I was not able to spend much time on it on any day. Finally, I had to spend a better part of my Sunday in order to wind it up.

I found the theme of this book even better than those of Dan Brown’s previous works. The fact that the subject isn’t as far fetched as the Jesus’ lost lineage or mysterious meteorite, has made all the difference to me. Even though, this includes all the usual symbols, mysteries, secrets and codes, the ultimate truth unveiled is the simplest one and yet very powerful. I could relate to it and was astonished by the revelation.

I hated Sato very much in the beginning for intimidating Robert. I made a little note too at that point – “I hate Sato.  Whatever her motives are, at the moment she is just a malicious, inconsiderate, selfish brute.”

I had a strong feeling even then that she has her own reasons for behaving so and that she intentioned well. But all the same, my feelings for her didn’t improve much. Despite her efficiency, I couldn’t appreciate her ruthlessness. She is one of the coldest characters I’ve ever came across.

And I was awed by the sensory- deprivation tanks and breathable liquid mentioned in the novel. Never heard of them before. I was curious before I came to that part as to how the author would explain the escape of an important person from death by apparent drowning. 😀

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

