Laughing aloud

1 09 2009

This morning I got onto the Metro bus to take me to work, as on any other weekday morning. As I  looked around at the grim faces of those on the bus, I found myself reflecting on how rarely I laugh out these days. As I started to think about it, I felt like I’m starved for a hearty laugh.

It’s said that babies smile/laugh about 400 times a day and as they grow up, this number continues to diminish. At some stage, one becomes so busy leading one’s life, that one doesn’t even realize when or how all the laughs slip away.

I don’t mean to say that I don’t laugh at all, but it’s definitely not too often. Also I don’t mean to say that one should laugh just for the sake of it, but a hearty laugh now and then makes life more interesting.

I guess everyone agrees that it’s easier to smile, than to laugh. But I think they both have different purposes.  Also while a smile usually enhances one’s looks, a laugh (especially in public places) is deemed undignified.

Even considering ‘smile’, how well are we making use of the countless opportunities life presents to us in our day-today-life? Do we smile at least 40 times a day?

It’s a well-known fact that ‘laugh’ is good for health (I’m sure you heard about laughing clubs). Physical benefits set aside, a genuine laugh makes one feel lot better psychologically and radiates positive energy, which in turn attracts more positive energy.

Given the high stakes, I’ve decided to make a conscious effort to create opportunities for a good laugh, now and then.

Does it sound weird? I would like to give it a shot even if it does. It’s been a long time since I indulged myself  in weird stuff. 😉

So, here are a couple of ideas I came up with:

  • Spend more time talking to people, and lessen the time spent with various gadgets: Laptop, Ipod, Iphone, Wii etc.  (I’m not sure whether this works or not. But I have a feeling that you can laugh more with people than with gadgets)
  • Watch comedy movies and funny videos. (I know this directly contradicts the above idea, but the order in which they appear is the order of their preference.)
  • One can also combine the above two – Watch comedy stuff with friends/family. 😉

And I’m stuck here. Any inputs from any of you? Pour in your crazy ideas!!!

PS: I guess spending more time with kids and playing with them also helps!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

