Yahoo!’s revamp

4 06 2009

Looks like Yahoo! is revamping its portal besides undergoing massive corporate restructuring. It has closed down its Briefcase service a few months ago and is now dropping 360 (Of course, there was the back out of Yahoo! Photos a while ago) .

I’ve completely forgotten about my 360 profile and didn’t acknowledge its existence since a long time, until I received a mail from Yahoo! announcing its closure. Ever since the advent of Orkut, I found no use for my Yahoo 360 profile. It seemed Orkut and Facebook have completely overshadowed it. Closing down 360 is perhaps a good idea, unless Yahoo improves it dramatically.
I don’t feel the same way about Briefcase, though. I have had a long term relationship with it. Yahoo Briefcase provided a perfect option back then to save important documents and files online, so that one could access them from anywhere through Internet. The 30 MB limit seems ridiculous now, but it was good enough in those old days.
A little while later, Google introduced Google Docs. The purpose and functionality isn’t the same as Briefcase, but I thought, at a first glance, that I found an alternative to it and was wooed by the large amount of space Google offered. But Google Docs didn’t meet all my requirements. I couldn’t even upload image files to it, let alone exes. This disappointment in Google Docs made Briefcase even more precious to me.
I felt real bad letting my Briefcase go. 😦
Apart from closing down existing services, the revamp includes introduction of some cool new features too. Read about them here.

I’ve completely forgotten about my 360 profile and didn’t acknowledge its existence since a long time, until I received a mail from Yahoo! announcing its closure. Ever since the advent of Orkut, I found no use for my Yahoo 360 profile. It seemed Orkut and Facebook have completely overshadowed it. Closing down 360 is perhaps a good idea, unless Yahoo improves it dramatically.

I don’t feel the same way about Briefcase, though. I have had a long term relationship with it. Yahoo! Briefcase provided a perfect option back then to save important documents and files online, so that one could access them from anywhere through Internet. The 30 MB limit seems ridiculous now, but it was good enough in those old days.

A little while later, Google introduced Google Docs. The purpose and functionality isn’t the same as Briefcase, but I thought, at a first glance, that I found an alternative to it and was wooed by the large amount of space Google offered. But Google Docs didn’t meet all my requirements. I couldn’t even upload image files to it, let alone exes. This disappointment in Google Docs made Briefcase even more precious to me.

I felt real bad letting my Briefcase go. 😦

Apart from closing down existing services, the revamp includes introduction of some cool new features too. Read about them here.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

