Global Warming

15 05 2009

This is something which really worries me sometimes. As I observe the days becoming hotter by each year (or is it just my imagination?), the insufficient or untimely  rains and the increasing number of unforeseen natural calamities like floods, earthquakes, tsunami etc, I get panicked thinking about the future. 

I visualize the world a few centuries later as one, which is unbearably hot, dry and full of pollution, half of the present population vanished. I can’t pinpoint the basis for my imagination but I think it’s a combination of several factors: the sci-fi movies I watched, the concept of global warming portrayed by the media etc. 

Nevertheless,  I used to take it all that pretty seriously and even felt grateful that I will not live to see that time. Can you believe it? Pretty crazy. Isn’t it? 

StateOfFearBut my perspective on global warming has changed, in fact reversed, after I read the techno-thriller novel “State of Fear” by Michael Crichton. In this book, the author deals with the subject of Global Warming in depth. He challenges the occurrence of the phenomenon. He indicates that there is no accurate evidence that ‘Global warming’ is really happening and that the world is in danger as a result of it. He provides references to many research papers to make this point. According to the book, the concept and effects of global warming are highly exaggerated by some environmental organizations for their own benefit – money and attention. It involves one such organization, which even attempts to create the supporting evidence through unimaginable and devastating means. 

I was really fascinated by this piece of fiction and I couldn’t think about Global Warming the same way again. Though it has a lousy plot, the research underneath this work and the scientific revelations inspired my awe. Of course, I’m not sure of the authenticity of his research and still wonder how much of it is fiction and how much is fact. 

Now let me mention something off the topic, which I can’t help recollecting whenever I think about “State of Fear”: 

One more thing from the book that lingers in my mind is the sequence of events involving cannibalism at the end of the novel. Tribals cheering, as some of them cut pieces of flesh from a live person tied to a post.. I shudder even now, just thinking about it. Gosh! For me, cannibalism is the horror of all horrors. Ever since I’ve seen the opening scenes of  “Red Dragon”, in which Antony Tompkins played the cannibal, the mere sight of him makes me convulse out of horror and repulsion. In that movie, he serves his guests dishes made with human body parts .. 

For those who are not familiar with the movie, here is some information. Red Dragon is the movie-adaptation of first of the famous Hannibal Lector Trilogy written by Thomas Harris. I think most of you have at least heard about the next one – The Silence of the Lambs. The movie has won many awards, including 5 Oscars. The last of the trilogy is called The Hannibal. You can read more about the trilogy here.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

