Mother’s Day

10 05 2009

 

 

MothersDay

 

Mother’s day, which is celebrated in honor of the mother by her family, is a relatively modern practice. As per wikipedia, it is celebrated on different days in different countries. India follows United States, and celebrates it on the second Sunday of May.

When I first heard about it, the concept of celebrating Mother’s Day and/or Father’s Day seemed a little weird to me. Honoring and respecting one’s parents is part of our Indian culture. We are taught right from the beginning to worship our parents and teacher as God every day (all the time).

Maatrudevobhava
Pitrudevobhava
Aacharyadevobhava

We also live with our parents most of our lives. It seems a bit absurd to decide to honor them on a particular day every year. But later I began to like it partly because it gives me another occasion to celebrate: have a cake and coke. Also with the ever-increasing trend of nuclear families, such occasions would provide more opportunities to connect with one’s parents.

I have been celebrating Mother’s Day since 2007, when my son was born. Only after I became a parent that I could fully comprehend my parents’ love for me. I’m grateful to my son for that. He made me love my parents even more than before.

On this day, besides wishing my mother a great day and possibly giving her a treat, as a mom I buy gifts for myself and feel special. I usually buy a book (I’m a voracious reader). I somehow started this tradition, which I wanted to carry on for the rest of my life: to buy a random book in a store. And the book should satisfy the following criteria:

    * Written by a female author
    * About women
    * Preferably something which I haven’t heard of before

It’s a bit difficult to find a really good book, which I haven’t heard of before but I want to stick to this rule as much as I can.

LisaSeeAfter much browsing, I chose Lisa See’s “Snow Flower and the Secret Fan” this time. It’s a story set in China about female friendship. The choice seemed so perfect, especially when viewed in light of my previous self-gifts:

  • The Mermaid Chair by Sue Monk Kidd – set in America
  • Brick Lane by Monica Ali – set in Britain (protagonist is a Bangladeshi immigrant)

The above two were just mediocre. But I have high expectations from this year’s selection. I’m sure I’m gonna love it. Can’t wait to devour it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

