Stories with a message

22 04 2009

 

Story Time

Story Time

Everyone loves stories. I always believe that a message reaches the hearts of people and has maximum impact on the individuals when it is framed in a story. I think this is the reason for the emergence and existence of so many fables, parables, moral stories etc.

A story creates interest in the listener or reader and makes him receptive of the idea behind it.

I have observed that even complex issues like business strategies or psychology or philosophy are being increasingly communicated by means of anecdotes, real life experiences, fables and stories.

What a relief it is to know about a subject through stories rather than boring, information-intense  lectures or text books. Of course, I’m not talking about acquiring comprehensive and expert knowledge of the subject involved. 

Some of such books which influenced and/or impressed me are:

Who Moved My Cheese

Spencer Johnson

This is probably the first of its kind read by me. It’s a book about change management written in the form of a parable.  The author laid out the principal truths and rules about dealing with change, both at work and in life,  through the characters Sniff, Scurry, Hem and Haw of this simple story.

It really amazed me that such a supposedly complex concept can be explained in so interesting a manner.  And I believe it’s the sure way to hit the bull’s eye, which is proved by the roaring success of the book.

The power of Six Sigma

Subir Chowdhury

I remember coming frequently across the term ‘Six Sigma’ in various journals, business magazines, newspapers, lectures etc when I was in my MBA that I felt an urgent need to know more about what it actually means. It was when I was looking for some easy-to-read- and-understand book for the same that I was recommended by a friend of mine to have a look at Subir Chowdhury’s Power of Six Sigma. It explains the complicated theories of Six Sigma in a simplified manner with the help of a fictional tale. It’s just what I needed at that point – informative as well as interesting. I recommend it to anyone who is looking for an introduction on the concept.

Chicken Soup for the Soul

Jack Canfield, Mark Victor Hansen 

I don’t believe I actually put off reading this book until recently. It’s amazingly inspiring and touching.

As you all know this is a collection of inspirational, motivational and heart touching little stories. The fact that most of them are in fact real, not just some fiction or fantasy, makes them all the more appealing.

These stories reminded me about the significance of both compassion and ambition. Urged me to stop and think about people around me.  Encouraged me to dream and inspired me to make those dreams true.

Some of the themes that influenced me are

  • Maintaining a goal book – with pictures and all, Writing down all those wishes and dreams of your life, what you want to experience and accomplish in your life.
  • The rules for being human.  The one I like most is the philosophy: “There” is no better than “here.” When your “there” has become a “here,” you will simply obtain another “there” that will again look better than “here.”
  • The power of a genuine smile, how it is infectious and brings a smile on everyone else’s faces.
  • Who you are makes a difference. And that knowledge alone gives a person immense satisfaction and confidence.
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

